Skip to Main Content

Community Proud: Canada 150 Awards, Niagara Centre

Posted Feb 17th, 2018 in Connecting Niagara, Municipal, Festivals and Events, canada

Community Proud: Canada 150 Awards, Niagara Centre

The Niagara Story Place sponsored by Calhoun

Vance Badawey, Member of Parliament for Niagara Centre presented Canada 150 awards to deserving citizens, organizations and businesses at the Vale Health & Wellness Centre in Port Colborne.

Over 70 recipients were awarded with a Canada 150 Community Award today by Vance Badawey, MP for Niagara Centre. The event took place at the Vale Health & Wellness Centre in Port Colborne, honouring all those who continuously give back to our communities. These individuals, business and organizations were nominated by family, friends, neighbours and colleagues to receive the awards for leadership in business, education, environment and for community building and volunteerism, youth leadership and senior leadership. There were also presentations to organizations which embody daily the Canadian spirits of compassion, kindness, respect, generosity and service before self. 

Master of Ceremonies, Ann Kennerly, Principal of Port Colborne High School called each recipient forward and read a short bio and list of accomplishments about each, while Vance Badawey presented a framed Canada 150 medal to each. The accomplishments of these people is a testament to the drive and community spirit that inspires and drives all those throughout Canada. 

See below for a list of all recipients. 

Photos by Andy Harris, 

Recipients of the Niagara Centre Canada 150 Awards


  • Audrey & Thies Bogner Photography
  • John & Rebecca Clark - MT Bellies
  • Nyarayi Kavasanhu - TOES
  • Mike Konderka - Enviro-Niagara
  • Shannon Passero - The Post Office
  • Patti Ruzycki Stirling


  • Brock University
  • Niagara College
  • Environment 
  • Broken Spoke Bicycle Program
  • Marine Recycling Corporation

Leadership: Seniors

  • Sean Keayes
  • Jack O'Neil
  • Doug Rapelje
  • Cobblestone Gardens
  • Foyer Richelieu
  • French Golden Age Club
  • Friends Over 55 Centre
  • Northland Pointe
  • Portal Village Retirement Community
  • Plymouth Cordage Retirement Community
  • Rapelje Lodge
  • Royal Rose Place Retirement Community
  • Rapelje Lodge
  • Royal Rose Place Retirement Home
  • Seasons Retirement Home
  • St. Charles Village
  • Thorold Seniors Association
  • Welland Rose City Seniors Centre
  • Woodlands of Sunset
  • Villa de Rose Retirement Home

Leadership: Youth

  • Dario Smagata-Bryan
  • Madison Busby
  • Alexander Fazzari
  • Dheiksha Jayasankar
  • Arvith Jhirad
  • Alison Ryder

Community Building & Volunteerism

  • Cathy & Larry Boggio
  • Denyse Brochu
  • Carmen Cayer
  • Louise Cyr
  • Shirley Cordiner
  • John D'Amico
  • Mary Dolan
  • Dan Giancola
  • Suzanne Payeur-Grenier
  • John & Cathy Henderson
  • Mary Jane Johnson
  • Margaret Jones
  • Debi Katsmar
  • Brent Kovach
  • Tom & Carmen Lannan
  • Leon Lowry
  • Claire Masswohl
  • Fred Neale
  • Carol Rapelje
  • Bill Rivers
  • Dave & Nancy Salvage
  • Bob Saracino
  • Paul Turner
  • Mieke Van Es
  • Canadian Corps Unit 43
  • Canadian Corps Unit 44
  • 434 Wing RCAF Association
  • Gateway of Niagara
  • Metis Nation of Ontario
  • Open Arms Mission
  • Port Cares
  • Port Colborne Historical & Marine Museum
  • Royal Canadian Legion Branch 4
  • Royal Canadian Legion Branch 17
  • Royal Canadian Legion Branch 56
  • The Hope Centre
  • Thorold Activities Group
  • Thorold & Beaverdams Museum
  • Wellnd Multicultural Centre
  • Welland Museum 

After the award ceremony Mayor John Maloney and members of council dedicated a Canada 150 time capsule to be opened in 50 years. Guests were also invited to enjoy snacks, and participate in a free swim and/or skate at the sports complex. 

This message could be about your business. Ask us.

  • Thanks Debi. I follow Connecting Niagara on Twitter and Facebook as well. It's nice to have a site that promotes local events and organizations. We appreciate the support and promotion of our event.
    ~ Dan M.


Powered by PRowl Communications

9053215097 Contact